Canada India Education and Career consultants


Canada is a federation of ten provinces (Alberta, British Columbia, Manitoba, New Brunswick, Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia, Ontario, Prince Edward Island, Quebec, and Saskatchewan) and three territories (Northwest Territories, Yukon, and Nunavut).
Canada is a democratic constitutional monarchy, where the monarch is head of state and an elected Prime Minister is the head of Government. The governor-general is officially the representative of Queen Elizabeth II, but in reality the governor-general acts only on the advice of the Canadian prime minister.
The country has a multi-party system and is based loosely on British rule. Canada is governed by its own House of Commons.

In Canada, there are 3 levels of government each with its own set responsibilities.

1. Federal government (the Government of Canada) - Responsible for things that affect the whole country, such as citizenship and immigration, national defense and trade with other countries.
2. Provincial and territorial governments (for example, the Province of Ontario) - Responsible for such things as education, health care and highways.
3. Municipal (local) governments (cities, towns, and villages in Ontario) - Responsible for firefighting, city streets and other local matters. If there is no local government, the province provides services.

National Capital Region:

The Parliament of Canada (the federal legislative branch of Canada), is seated at Parliament Hill in the national capital, Ottawa, Ontario. It is located on the south bank of the Ottawa River in the eastern portion of Southern Ontario. Ottawa borders Gatineau, Quebec, and together with the surrounding urban and rural communities they form the National Capital Region (NCR).]

Major Political parties:

 Liberal Party of Canada
 Conservative Party of Canada
 Le Bloc Québécois
 New Democratic Party of Canada
 Green Party of Canada

Canada-Political Divisions

Provinces and Territories

Canada has 10 provinces and 3 territories. Provinces receive their power and authority directly from the Constitution Act, 1867, and are considered to be co-sovereign divisions, with the lieutenant-governor representing the Monarch in each province. Territories are part of the federal government and derive their mandates and powers from it. They have a commissioner.


1. British Columbia

Provincial Capital: Victoria
Major Cities & Towns: Vancouver, Whistler, Kelowna
Useful links:

2. Alberta

Provincial Capital: Edmonton
Major Cities: Calgary, Banff / Lake Louise

3. Saskatchewan

Provincial Capital: Regina
Major Cities: Saskatoon, Prince Albert

4. Manitoba

Provincial Capital: Winnipeg
Major Cities: Churchill

5. Ontario

Provincial Capital: Toronto
Federal Capital:Ottawa
Major Cities:Niagara Falls, Niagara-on-the-Lake

6. Quebec

Provincial Capital: Quebec City
Major Cities: Montreal

7. New Brunswick

height="200px"; width="260px"
Provincial Capital: Fredericton
Major Cities: Moncton, St. John

Provincial Capital:
Major Cities:

8. Nova Scotia

Provincial Capital: Halifax
Major Cities: Sydney, Wolfville, Peggy's Cove

9. Prince Edward Island

Provincial Capital: Charlottetown

10. Newfoundland & Labrador

Provincial Capital: St. John's


1. Yukon

Capital: Whitehorse

2. Northwest Territories

Capital: Yellowknife

3. Nunavut

Capital: Iqaluit

Location of the provinces and territories: